Legal Issues For Authors: What every author needs to know

Presenter: Maggie Marr, Esq

March 16, 2024

90 minutes

$15

(Free for General Members)

Zoom Workshop

Overview

As an author you do the most brilliant thing; you create stories that travel through space and time. You place words, pictures and emotions into reader’s minds. You are also a business owner and entrepreneur. Your books are your business. Your business is the creation, management and sale of intellectual property. Join me as I walk through some of the legal issues that are unique and not so unique to authors.

Instructor

Maggie Marr is a USA Today Best Selling Author of over 20 books, including the beloved and bestselling Hollywood Girls Club Series.

She is the founder of Happily Ever After, Inc. a media company specializing in books and mobile games and co-founder and managing partner of Tule Productions, a division of Tule Entertainment.

She is a former ICM motion picture literary agent; while at ICM  she worked on such projects as Meet The ParentsMeet The FockersUnderworldLast First KissBourne IdentityBridget Jone’s DiaryGame of Thrones, and a host of books to film and TV projects.

She founded Maggie Marr Legal, a boutique intellectual property law practice dedicated to the sales, representation, and legal needs of creatives.

“I am dedicated to helping each and every client to the best of my ability. I take pride in being a strategic and futuristic thinker who actualizes positive outcomes for my clients. I started in the mailroom at ICM and worked my way up to agent. I’ve been in this industry for 20+ years. Have negotiated deals with Netflix, HBO, Amazon Prime, Universal, Warner Bros, Disney. There isn’t a studio or streamer we haven’t worked with. “

Zoom Requirements

This workshop will be conducted live via Zoom.com and recorded for future viewing by RWO members and paid students for 90 days after the workshop. Please visit Zoom Support for their guidance on system requirements for Windows, macOS, and Linux computer systems.

FAQs

Do I have to have a paid Zoom account to participate? No, we use the Romance Writers Online account to host Zoom workshops. You just need a free account.

What time will the workshop start? We usually go live ten minutes before the listed start time so please join us then.

How long will the workshop run? We usually go about 90 minutes.

Will I be able to ask questions? Of course! The workshop moderator will announce at the beginning of the session how the presenter will handle questions and comments.

This Zoom workshop will be held Saturday, March 16th at 2 pm ET/1 pm CT/Noon MT/11 am PT. Your connection link will be handled through your Zoom account.